Dare to Give Homemade Gifts!

Like the cookie eating, I mean cookie ‘baking’ Dare to DIY, this is one I can definitely handle! I love making and giving homemade gifts! I love that it takes time (sounds CRAZY, I know, but it’s true!). That’s time you spend thinking about the recipient, thinking of how they will use/enjoy what you are making,  and thinking back on your friendship/relationship with the person. Or, in some cases, time wondering if they will know what it is (!).

While I do have a pretty awesome (if I do say so myself!) holiday gift in progress, it is a bigger undertaking than I originally thought (typical), so it might end up being a 2010 birthday present, opps! But since I need to keep that under wraps, I thought I would share a few other gift ideas with you:

Le Floof Scarf: made from a dreamy super fluffy, or floofy (technical term), yarn. This one took one ball of yarn for the scarf + tassels with a smidge left over! It is a simple garter stitch with large needles to give a lacey effect. I think any lady would love to wrap up in this!

Le Floof Scarf

Crochet Flower Brooches: I love these! I could wear a different one every day of the year and not get bored with them! #1 is made with handspun wool yarn and features a vintage button. This is definitely the ‘dressier’ of the two and features a variety of colors, from chocolate brown to peach, YUM!

Crochet Flower Brooch 1

#2 is made with handpainted yarn and features lavender, teal blue and a nice rusty orange. Definitely a striking combo that I think would look GREAT with a khaki blazer and teal sweater. (And teal pumps. Obviously I haven’t thought about this AT ALL.)

Crochet Flower Brooch 2

Oven Mitt and Angel Washcloth: I made this for a holiday gift swap I’m participating in. Both items are crocheted with 100% cotton yarn that is plied with a metallic thread.

Oven Mitt and Angel Washcloth

Toddler cap: a fair-isle style knit cap in two colors. In this case, I choose a family favorite, LSU purple and gold! I think these are GREAT because they are super fast and the two-color design makes them amenable to any sports team’s colors!

Toddler cap

Mittens: As you may know, I started a pair of Bella Mittens recently. I hoped to finish them this weekend, but alas, I was too busy for knitting! I am on the second one and it’s going well. I think these may actually become a gift for a friend……..and I already have yarn to start another pair for me!

Bella Mitten

So there you have it. A selection of gift options! Now, back to that knitting….

(PS Blog formatting in progress, so my “Leave a comment” button is really really really tiny, but it’s the hyperlinked thing below!)

6 thoughts on “Dare to Give Homemade Gifts!

Leave a Reply

